Our Colleges

We are a comprehensive university, with more than thirty subject areas across eighteen departments. Our academic departments are grouped into three colleges, ensuring that we are best placed to support our ambitions to think imaginatively and respond nimbly.  Across our diverse academic portfolio there are strong common themes: working in close partnership with employers, inter-disciplinary enquiry and teaching, relevance and impact, harnessing enabling digital technologies and attention to student’s individual needs. We  draw this together in the ‘Hallam Model’ – a clear encapsulation of our distinctiveness.

At the heart of our strategy is our commitment to work as one university and our colleges  continue to work in partnership with a wide range of professional services to deliver this. 

College of Health, Wellbeing and Life Sciences

Nursing and Midwifery
Social Work, Social Care and Community Studies
Allied Health Professions
Biosciences and Chemistry
Sport and Physical Activity

College of Social Sciences and Arts 

Law and CriminologyNatural and Built Environment
Psychology, Sociology and Politics
Art and Design
Media Arts and Communication
Teacher Education
Education, Childhood and Inclusion

College of Business, Technology and Engineering 

Finance, Accounting and Business Systems
Service Sector Management
Engineering and Mathematics